Recipe and Review – Mushroom and Cheese Tiers with McLelland Cheddar

This is an adaptation of a Mary Berry Recipe from my Charity Shop Haul!

I have simplified it to make it one step and to use things I had in my fridge.

It is simply Mushrooms (any size and shape you like. Just choose a dish that fits them and tomatoes the same size. Large fat mushrooms will need beefsteak, I used small mushrooms and cherry tomatoes.

Wipe the mushrooms and remove the stalks (chop the stalks finely, add pesto and salt and pepper to taste). Pile the pesto mixture onto each mushroom (I made my own “pesto” with chopped parsley, chives, mint sauce and olive oil). Slice the tomatoes and put on top of each mushroom. Top with a slice of McLelland Seriously Strong Cheddar. Season with freshly ground pepper. I cooked it for about 30 minutes at 200 degrees but next time I will leave it longer, covering it if it gets too brown.

DSCF8596

As you can see some of the cheese slid off – it did taste gorgeous though! If you do small ones like me do plenty because they were not very filling – 5 or 6 each would be lovely!

DSCF8597

One thought on “Recipe and Review – Mushroom and Cheese Tiers with McLelland Cheddar

Leave a Reply

