May Bank Holiday Weekend began with a laugh filled evening thanks to Comping!

Last evening we had tickets for our local theatre (The Spa, Bridlington) courtesy of a competition win.

It was to see the comedian Billy Pearce , we have seen him before in his family show. Last nights show was the adult version. Not one for the easily offended but hilarious if you are broadminded

. He chose a “stooge” from the audience – the hapless Beryl from Harrogate. I was so glad it was not me as I usually get picked out and I like to blend into the crowd. Many years ago Les Dawson and Stu Francis once did their entire routine with a spotlight on me in the front row of the Spa’s balcony. I still blush to remember it.

Billy also kept going back to the fact that his wife was called “Lola” as is the Ray Davies song an even sang it…

I met her in a club down in North Soho
Where you drink champagne and it tastes just like cherry cola
See-O-L-A cola.

She walked up to me and she asked me to dance.
I asked her name and in a dark brown voice she said, “Lola”
L-O-L-A Lola, lo lo lo lo Lola

Well, I’m not the world’s most physical guy,
But when she squeezed me tight she nearly broke my spine
Oh my Lola, lo lo lo lo Lola

Well, I’m not dumb but I can’t understand
Why she walk like a woman and talk like a man
Oh my Lola, lo lo lo lo Lola, lo lo lo lo Lola

Ever since this song was released in 1970 I have been teased with it as my name Loma sounds so like it. I had already decided to lie if he asked me my name, luckily for me Beryl from Harrogate was last nights winner. I still love the song though and Ray Davies!

Well these two old crocks rolled In at 11pm. I had mascara streaks from laughing till I cried and my o/h had a sore coccyx from the Spa’s seats. I find them very comfy but he has a very slim posterior with little padding and suffers after 2 hours or so.

Whatever you have planned for this Bank Holiday, enjoy every minutex

 

Leave a Reply

