When good gas meters turn bad…

Not a very good day – our gas meter decided to go on strike and it’s freezing cold here.

First I phoned my gas provider – a recorded voice told me the queue was between 20-40 minutes but I could have ringback. I pressed ringback and of course no-one rang back!

After a difficult online chat with someone called Surraraj who did not seem to find it an emergency I had to play the age card. I explained we were old and needed heat and we in danger of frostbite and he said an engineer would ring and then visit within 3 hours. Well he didn’t ring but he did turn up (at the side gate which we keep locked!) and took 5 minutes to fix the meter.

After a climb into the loft the boiler breathed again and I managed without my hot water bottle.

Leave a Reply

